Listen Live on  

1310 WIBA

Madison's News/Talk Station

Total of three counties now in state of emergency after tornadoes

Posted Friday, June 20th 2014 @ 1pm  by 1310 WIBA Newsroom/ NBC 15/ Associated Press

MADISON, Wis. (AP) -- Gov. Scott Walker has declared a state of emergency in three southern Wisconsin counties following a rash of storms and tornadoes that caused millions of dollars in damage this week.

Walker on Friday issued the emergency declaration for Dane, Grant, and Green counties.

In the emergency declaration Walker directs all state agencies to assist the three counties in the response and recovery effort.

He is also calling to active duty any necessary elements of the Wisconsin National Guard that could be called upon to assist.

Six confirmed tornadoes touched down in the three counties this week.

A state of emergency was declared earlier in the week for Dane County.

Recommended Stories

More from 1310 WIBA