MADISON, Wis. (AP) _ Longshot candidate for governor Brett Hulsey has been allowed on the Aug. 12 primary ballot against fellow Democrat Mary Burke.

The Government Accountability Board voted unanimously Tuesday to grant ballot access to Hulsey, despite challenges to his nomination signatures brought by Michael Basford, chairman of the Democratic Party of Dane County.

But the board determined that Hulsey submitted 2,074 signatures, which is 74 more than what is needed to get on the ballot.

Basford argued that 319 signatures should be disallowed because the person's address appeared to be written by someone else. But board staff says that is allowable.

Hulsey attended the meeting but Basford did not.

Hulsey decided to run for governor rather than seek re-election to the state Assembly, where he has served two terms.



Wisconsin elections board staff is recommending that state Rep. Brett Hulsey be allowed on the ballot to challenge Mary Burke for the Democratic Party nomination in the governor's race.

Government Accountability Board staff is also recommending former state Sen. Gary George be allowed on the ballot to challenge fellow Democrat U.S. Rep. Gwen Moore for Congress and that four incumbent members of the state Legislature be allowed on the ballot despite challenges to nomination papers they filed last week.

The board was meeting Tuesday to certify candidates for the ballot.

The incumbents facing challenges to their nomination papers are Democratic state Reps. Mandela Barnes and JoCasta Zamarripa, both of Milwaukee, and Republican Kathy Bernier, of Lake Hallie. Republican state Sen. Frank Lasee is the only incumbent senator facing a challenge.

The board is also recommending that frequent protester Jeremy Ryan be allowed to challenge U.S. Rep. Paul Ryan as a Republican.

GAB staff say six candidates should not be allowed on the ballot. They include Democratic candidate Ollie Dombrow and Republican Russel Goodwin in Milwaukee's 12th district.  The others: Democrat Steve Gulasky in the 42nd, Democrat Justin Krueger in the 3rd, and Green Party candidate Michael LaForest in the 47th Assembly districts plus Independent William Thompkins III in the 21st Senate District.