Park Ridge, Ill. – The Big Ten office announced the conference schedule for the 2014 football season today, as approved by the Big Ten Directors of Athletics. The 2014 schedule will consist of eight games for each of the Big Ten’s 14 teams, feature a new division alignment, include the conference debut of Maryland and Rutgers and culminate with the fourth annual Big Ten Football Championship Game.


The 2014 Big Ten season begins on Sept. 13, with Rutgers making its Big Ten debut by hosting fellow East Division member Penn State. Maryland will take part in its first Big Ten game two weeks later on Sept. 27 with an East Division matchup at Indiana.


Wisconsin will play both of the league's newest members in 2014....  

2014 Schedule

Aug. 30            TBA

Sept. 6             Western Illinois

Sept. 13           TBA

Sept. 20           Bowling Green

Sept. 27           USF

Oct. 4               at Northwestern

Oct. 11             ILLINOIS

Oct. 18             BYE

Oct. 25             MARYLAND

Nov. 1               at Rutgers

Nov. 8               at Purdue

Nov. 15            NEBRASKA

Nov. 22            at Iowa

Nov. 29            MINNESOTA

Dec. 6               Big Ten Championship Game

                          Lucas Oil Stadium, Indianapolis, Ind.


Home Games listed in BOLD CAPS


Beginning in 2014, the Big Ten football division alignments will feature Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State and Rutgers in the East Division and Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue and Wisconsin in the West Division. Each school will play the other six schools in its division plus two teams from the other division in 2014 and 2015, which will serve as transitional years in which the schools will still be playing eight-game schedules. Beginning in 2016, each school will play three teams from the other division as part of its nine-game schedule. The cross-division games will include one protected matchup on an annual basis between Indiana and Purdue.


The 118th season of Big Ten football kicks off Thursday, August 29, and culminates with the third annual Big Ten Football Championship Game on Saturday, Dec. 7, to be played at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis and televised by FOX. The winner of the title game will earn the Big Ten Championship and a chance to play in either the Rose Bowl Game or Bowl Championship Series National Championship Game.