Second round of school safety grant funding awarded in Wisconsin

 As part of Wisconsin Safe Schools Week, Attorney General Brad Schimel attended an adolescent mental health training in Madison Monday.

During the event, he announced that the Wisconsin Department of Justice (DOJ) Office of School Safety (OSS) has completed awarding the second round of school safety grant funding. OSS will hold trainings for more than 500 law enforcement officers and educators across the state this week. OSS Advisory Committee will also hold its first meeting.

In March 2018, the Wisconsin State Legislature and Governor Scott Walker passed and signed 2017 Wisconsin 143 into law, establishing the OSS and providing $100 million for school safety.

Today, approximately $6 million remains of the $100 million school safety grant funds. The remaining funds will be used for:·         Funding the seven schools in round two that either withdrew or that did not originally apply;·         Paying the tuition and related expenses for 10% of all teachers (about 7,500) to attend adolescent mental health training free of charge;·         A mobile application and tip phone-line for anonymous threat reporting;·         Online training videos; and,·         An emergency response fund in the case of a crisis event at school.

During Wisconsin Safe Schools Week (October 21-27), DOJ will hold adolescent mental health training in Madison, Green Bay, Drummond, Racine, Wisconsin Dells, and Lake Geneva. These trainings will be attended by more than 500 educators and law enforcement. Wisconsin DOJ plans to train more than 2,000 teachers and other education professionals by the end of 2018, and more than 5,000 by the end of 2019.

OSS will also hold its first Advisory Committee meeting on Thursday, October 25 from 9:00 a.m. to 12:00p.m. in Madison. The committee will discuss threat assessment statewide best practices, technology and school safety, crisis management, and future initiatives of the OSS.

The last remaining schools and school districts to receive round two grant awards through October 22, 2018 include:

·         Academy of Excellence (Milwaukee), $44,941, Awarded 10/17/2018;·         Beaver Dam Unified School District, $194,229, Awarded 10/17/2018;·         Blessed Savior Catholic School (Milwaukee), $30,800, Awarded 10/17/2018;·         Brillion School District, $53,981, Awarded 10/17/2018;·         Carter’s Christian Academy (Milwaukee), $20,704, Awarded 10/17/2018;·         Cathedral School (Superior), $10,000, Awarded 10/16/2018;·         DeForest Area School District, $207,617, Awarded 10/16/2018;·         Early View Academy of Excellence (Milwaukee), $43,280, Awarded 10/17/2018;·         East Troy Community School District, $90,815, Awarded 10/16/2018;·         Edgewood Campus School (Madison), $14,730, Awarded 10/16/2018;·         Faith Christian High School, Inc. (Williams Bay), $10,000, Awarded 10/17/2018;·         Faith Christian School (Coleman), $10,000, Awarded 10/16/2018;·         Frederic School District, $24,182, Awarded 10/16/2018;·         Holy Trinity School (Kewaskum), $8,178, Awarded 10/16/2018;·         Lamb of God Ev Lutheran School (West Allis), $9,645, Awarded 10/16/2018;·         Little Chute Area School District, $87,467, Awarded 10/17/2018;·         Luther High School (Onalaska), $12,257, Awarded 10/17/2018;·         Maple Dale-Indian Hill School District (Fox Point), $26,722, Awarded 10/17/2018;·         Marathon City School District, $40,248, Awarded 10/16/2018;·         Milwaukee Public School District, $2,590,000, Awarded 10/22/2018;·         Pathways High, $10,000, Awarded 10/17/2018;·         Phillips School District, $32,075, Awarded 10/16/2018;·         Rosendale-Brandon School District, $58,135, Awarded 10/16/2018;·         Saint Anthony Grade School (Loyal), $9,998, Awarded 10/17/2018;·         Saint Francis de Sales Grade School (Lake Geneva), $9,609, Awarded 10/17/2018;·         Saint Mary School (Platteville), $9,998, Awarded 10/16/2018;·         Saint Pauls Evangelical Lutheran School (Wisconsin Rapids), $9,995, Awarded 10/16/2018;·         Saint Paul’s Lutheran School (Fort Atkinson), $10,000, Awarded 10/17/2018;·         Seton Catholic Schools, Inc (Milwaukee), $169,108, Awarded 10/16/2018;·         SS Peter & Paul Grade School (Independence), $10,000, Awarded 10/17/2018;·         Star of Bethlehem Evangelical Lutheran (New Berlin), $12,799, Awarded 10/17/2018;·         Stone Bank School District (Oconomowoc), $21,476, Awarded 10/16/2018;·         Sun Prairie Area School District, $463,308, Awarded 10/17/2018;·         Trevor-Wilmot Consolidated School District, $28,228, Awarded 10/16/2018;·         Two Rivers Public School District, $96,121, Awarded 10/16/2018;·         Weston School District, $14,056, Awarded 10/18/2018;·         White Lake School District, $10,000, Awarded 10/16/2018;·         Wisconsin Institute for Torah Study (Milwaukee), $10,000, Awarded 10/16/2018;·         Wonewoc-Union Center School District, $18,827, Awarded 10/16/20

For more go to :

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content